Montgomery County Introduces Innovation Schools

May 16, 2013

Ten schools were picked to help pilot a new program from Montgomery County Public Schools that will provide an extra layer of central office support to under-performing schools. Officials culled various data to determine the schools that needed help, including key measures at certain grade levels, like whether students are reading as they should by 3rd grade and whether 5th and 8th graders have the reading and math skills that prepare them for the next level. The full list of schools:

Clopper Mill Elementary
Strathmore Elementary
Watkins Mill Elementary
Argyle Middle
A. Mario Loiederman Middle
Montgomery Village Middle
John F. Kennedy High
Springbrook High
Watkins Mill High
The alternative programs

“The 10 Innovation Schools have already shown a commitment to school improvement and have the staff and leadership in place to accelerate that progress,” Superintendent Joshua Starr said in a statement. “These schools will serve as a model for how collaborative work, with one another and with central office, can lead to great outcomes for our students.” (Patch)

Write a comment